Connect with us

Support The NewsHawks

Julian King

Arts & Lifestyle

Road to the NAMAs ko ntuntu



THE road to 22nd Edition of National Arts Merit Awards or simply the NAMAs began in earnest with the recent announcement of nominees, with musician Saintfloew is dominating the music category.

The Bipolar hitmaker got three nods for People’s Choice Award, Outstanding Song for One by One that also features Julian King and Outstanding Male Musician. Mbida D, who won big at last year’s 100 Sound Clash held at City Sports Centre in Harare, is in the running for the Outstanding Newcomer accolade together with Kinah the Music (Shekinah Nathan Ndlovu) and Bagga Maga.

The NAMAs will be held in Bulawayo at the Zimbabwe International Trade Fair hall number 3 on 24 February 2024.

This not the first time the NAMAs have been held in the City of Kings as two other previous editions were held at the City Hall.

This year’s edition will be held under the theme #kwan22 (KwaNtuthu).

The awards are one of the Culture Fund’s projects funded by the European Union Delegation to Zimbabwe.

CreativeACTIONS2 aims at complementing national development priorities by funding innovative artistic and cultural expression, empowering civil society, promoting gender equality and women’s empowerment, and providing training and skills development programmes for arts and culture practitioners.

The project was launched in January 2023 with a focus on nurturing and empowering Zimbabwean artists and cultural practitioners across a spectrum of disciplines, encompassing music, dance, theatre, literary arts, and fashion.

Napoleon Nyanhi, the director of Jacaranda Culture and Media Corporation, who are managing the NAMA event, promised arts lovers a thrilling night in Bulawayo.

The NAMAs are aimed at honouring Zimbabwean artists in various disciplines such as visual, theatre, dance, literary works and music. The celebrations have been marked by pomp and fanfare as the red carpet is rolled out to guests and nominees.

Organised by the National Arts Council of Zimbabwe, the NAMAs add value to the performing arts as they are the highest recognition in the nation.

The 22nd edition NAMA nominees’ full list:


Outstanding Female Dancer

Ellain Ncube in the Chronicles

Deborah Kabongo in Fame in a Frame

Vannessa Nyoni in Street Battles

Outstanding Male Dancer

Tichaona Chikara in The Hero

Sean Mambwere in The Chronicles

Terence Kapesa in A man from Bulawayo

Outstanding Dance Group

Elysium Magna Dance Theatre – Ndabaningi Sithole

Guruve Marimba Arts Ensemble – Dinhe

Salt and Light – The Chronicles

Outstanding Dance Choreographer

Deborah Kabongo – Fame in a Frame

Terence Kapesa – A man from Bulawayo-Saint Floew

Sean Mambwere – Salt and Light/ See me


Outstanding 2-Dimensional Work

My daughter by Crystal Vimbanashe Beseni

Shiriyabvutarekeni by Sea Mpetwa

Wire Car by Christwish Mulunga

Outstanding 3-Dimensional Work

Cultural Dancer by Chenjerai Chiripanyanga

Humility by Previledge Garade

Charging Gorilla by Ray Chataira

Outstanding Mixed Media Work

What’s Next by Fizani Nkomo

Scaffolding on Site by Ishmael Maririrofa

Dhunamutuna by Tawanda Takura

Outstanding Exhibition

Katundu katurikwa – (Solo Exhibition at National Gallery of Zimbabwe –

Harare: curated by Zvikomborero F. Mandangu)

Pamoyo Sihlengeni – (Solo Exhibition at National Gallery of

Zimbabwe –

Bulawayo: curated by Doris Kamupira)

Connections – (group exhibition at National Gallery of

Zimbabwe – Bulawayo: curated by Hajee Ismail Mposa, Sinqobile Shamie

Dube and Doris Kamupira


Outstanding Poet

Ngonidzashe Paradza aka Mambo


Shanay Wood

Chioniso Tsikisayi

Outstanding Comedian


Outstanding Social Media Skit

Admire Takudzwa Mushambi aka Mama Vee

Theophilus Chigumira aka Astra632 Mai Kirifodhi

Kudzayi Chengedza aka Mbuya



Outstanding Journalist – Print

Sharon Zebra-Alpha Media

Sindiso Dube –Alpha Media

Mthabisi Tshuma-Chronicle

Outstanding Journalist – Radio

MisRed – ZiFM Stereo

KVG – Star FM

Chamvary – ZiFM stereo

Outstanding Journalist – Television

Collete Musanyera – ZTV

Mr Dobbie – NRTV

Outstanding Online Media

Khumbulani Muleya – Heart and Soul

Plot Mhako – Earground

Jonathan Mbiriyamveka – Gem Nation


Outstanding Actor

Farirai Clarence Borerwe as Augustine in Beautiful Men

Douglas Bramsen as Jafar in Aladdin

Dean Jones as Lago in Aladdin

Outstanding Actress

Charmaine Mujeri as Faith Nehura in Zuva Crumbling

Musawenkosi Sibanda as ALL MOTHER: We are One WINNER in


Nosizo Gumede as Runyararo in I am/was Marah

Outstanding Theatrical Production

Simunye We are One directed by Mongi Wekhaya Mthombeni produced

by Shearwater

I am/was Marah directed by Llyod Nyikadzino Zimbabwe Theatre Academy

Zuva Crumbling directed by Tafadzwa Bob Mutumbi

Outstanding Director

Sandy Bradrick for Aladdin

Llyod Nyikadzino for I am/was Marah

Tafadzwa Bob Mutumbi for Zuva Crumbling and Beautiful Men


Outstanding First Creative Published Work

The Train House on Lobengula Street by Fatima Kara

A Somber graveyard Tale by

Christopher Madala

UQondisile MaKhumalo by Kephas Sibanda

Outstanding Children’s Book

Sloba and the Crocodile Tears by Martin Chayambuka

A day in the park by Audrey Chirenje

The Haunted Pumkin by Mai Sarungano Folktales

Outstanding Fiction book

Whatever happened to Rick Astley by Bryony Rheam

The Magic and Masala by Violette Kee-Tui

UKhethiwe by Zibusiso Mabonisa

Outstanding Poetry Book

Looking for mother by Nkosiyazi Kan Kanjiri

Shamhu yezera renyu by Memory Chirere

Tesserae: A mosaic of poems by Zimbabwean Women compiled and

edited by Samantha Rumbidzai Vazhure and Marian Christie


Outstanding Actor

Everson K Chieza as Jabulani in the November Promise

Alex Ayanda Marova as Sgora in High School Diary

Felix Machingambi as Comrade in Comrade

Outstanding Actress

Auxillia Mucharevei as Nomsa in Destiny

Munashe Goromonzi as Tsitsi in The November Promise

Bonakele Agnes Ncube as Dudu in High School Diary

Outstanding Music Video

Famba – Anita Jakson Directed by Taurai Zidya

Harare to Mutare – Shingai ft Bryan K – Directed by Jonathan Samukange

Damage – Tahle wedzinza – Directed by Jonathan Samukange

Outstanding Screen Production


The November Promise – Derby Bheta

High School Diary – John Mabuyane

DNA Show Episode Isaiah – Tinashe Mugabe

Butsu na Shatireki – Johanes Machingauta

Outstanding Screen Production (short length film)

Maoko akandirera by Tinashe Dhorobeni

Daughter of the soil by Derrick Manieca

A few dollars more by Jabu Mudzvova

Outstanding Screen Production (full length film)

White yet Black by Steve Chikosi

Comrade by Stephen Mutsago & Abel Silungwe


Outstanding Newcomer


Kinah the Music (Shekinah Nathan Ndlovu)

Bagga Maga

Outstanding Female Musician

Vuyo Brown

Feli Nandi

Janet Manyowa

Outstanding Male Musician



Enzo Ishall

Outstanding Song

One by One by Saintfloew and Julian King

Bhebhi Rako Raroorwa by Enzo Ishall

Chiremerera by Jah Prayzah

Outstanding Album

Joyful Praise Choir – Season 4 Jesus

Jah Prayzah – Chiremerera

Freeman – Trophy


Promoter of the Year

Prunella Investments

Xmo Squad

Stratosphere Events

Chipaz Promotions

Artist in the Diaspora

Learnmore Jonasi Mwanyenyeka aka Long John (Stand Up Comedy)

based in the USA

Wiina Musamati (Theatre) based in the UK

Virginia Chihota (Visual Artist) based in New York, America

Ernest Ndlovu (Film and Television Actor) South Africa

Masimba Hwati (Visual Artist) based in Vienna, Austria

People’s Choice Award

Holy Ten (Mukudzei Chitsama)

Voltz JT (Nkosinathi Sibiya)

Saintfloew (Tawanda Mambo)

Mai Khirifordhi (Theophilus Chigumira)

Winky D (Wallace Chirimuko).

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *